World Cup 2023: Controversial LBW Decision against David Warner in Australia vs Sri Lanka Match

    Australian opener David Warner wasn’t happy after a questionable LBW decision during the game against Sri Lanka at Ekana Stadium, Lucknow.

    Australia, trying to get 210 runs, faced a setback when Warner was declared out. Umpire Joel Wilson said he was out LBW in the fourth over because of a ball bowled by Dilshan Madushanka. The ball hit Warner’s leg, and Warner felt it wasn’t out, so he asked for a review.

    Even after reviewing with the DRS system, the decision remained the same based on the umpire’s initial call. Warner was clearly upset with this. When he went back to the dressing room, he showed his frustration by hitting his bat on the ground.

    This wasn’t the only time Australia felt the decisions were unfair in this World Cup. In another game against South Africa, both Steve Smith and Marcus Stoinis faced questionable decisions.

    In that match, during the 18th over, Stoinis was at the center of a debate. He defended a ball from South African bowler Kagiso Rabada, which Quinton de Kock caught spectacularly. Umpire Joel Wilson initially said it wasn’t out, but South Africa asked for a review.

    Replay showed the ball might have touched Stoinis’ hand, indicating it could have hit the bat. Even though Stoinis seemed to have let go of the bat, third umpire Richard Kettleborough felt otherwise. He believed Stoinis’ glove was still touching the bat.

    After these incidents, Australia lost the match, placing them at a low rank in the World Cup 2023 points table.

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article


    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.